Service Dogs


Updated 07/06/2022

At the 48th Triennial Assembly of the General Grand Chapter,
Order of the Eastern Star, Service Dogs was established as
primary and permanent charity of General grand Chapter along
with the adoption of a Service Dog Committee as a Standing
Committee.  The overall goal is to identify the Eastern Star
with Service Dogs.  Funds raised in PA stay in PA and will
enable the Service Dog Committee give funds towards
service dogs in our communities.

What is a Service Dog?
1.   Service Dogs are defined as dogs that are individually trained to
do  work or perform tasks for people with disabilities.
2.   Service Dogs undergo extensive training to perform their jobs.
3.   Service Dogs perform a variety of different tasks.
4.   Service Dogs are NOT pets.  Do not pet, talk to, or distract a
working service dog.
5.   The only types of animals recognized as trained to do
work/perform tasks for people with disabilities are dogs and
miniature horses.
6.   Service dogs can be any breed or size.  While larger dogs such
as Labradors are commonly used as guide and mobility dogs,
smaller dogs can also be service dogs.
7.   Service dogs should (but don’t always) wear special harnesses or
vests with patches identifying them as service, guide, or medical
alert dogs.
8.  A Service dog is expected to behave in accordance with strict
standards, and its handler is expected to adhere to dog handler
9.  Service dogs are allowed access to anyplace that is open to the
public, however can be asked to leave if not under control.
10. A Service dog must be accompanying a disabled person in order
to be granted access.  The rights of the disabled handler are
protected – not the dog. Remember, not all types of disabilities
are apparent to others.

There are different types of service dogs:  guide dogs for the blind,
earing dogs, mobility dogs, medical alert dogs, medical assistance dogs, and psychiatric service dogs.